Archive for March 28th, 2009|Daily archive page

1976 Honda CB550 Cafe Project

From the extraordinary cafe builder Steve “Carpy” Carpenter comes this “I’m clearin’ out the garage” project bike up for sale on eBay right now. It’s a 1976 Honda CB550 with a bikini fairing, aftermarket seat, and a need for a good home with a patient mechanic. Lots of parts are missing, but the price is right ($152 with 22 hours left in the auction). Maybe you have an extra set of carbs, a pipe, some brakes calipers, and miscellaneous other parts sitting around? Good. Then this is the bike for you…

honda_cb550_cr_01
honda_cb550_cr_02
honda_cb550_cr_03

So you want to start a cafe racer website?

I admit, when I started this blog I wanted to register caferacer.com and host the blog there. I couldn’t get it, and settled for ilovecaferacers.com (the site isn’t functional yet, so you don’t need to check it out at this point in time). Then, I noticed an incoming link to this blog today from caferacer.com. I clicked on it to see where the link was coming from, and lo-and-behold, the domain name caferacer.com is parked and for sale. “How much is the asking sale price,” you might ask? I’ll tell you…

$82,100 at buydomains.com.

Whatever. I think I’ll stick with my WordPress blog.