1970 BSA Thunderbolt Cafe Racer (Kinda mix and match)


Props to the owner/seller of this bike for building a beautiful classic motorcycle. Is it a full-on cafe racer? No. Is it beautiful? Yes, and I already stated my opinion.

This brings me to another point. Lately I have received a bit of criticism for having opinions about what makes a cafe racer a cafe racer. Does it have clip-ons or clubmans? Is there a cafe seat on the bike? Are there rear-sets or the standard dangly bits hanging off the side of the bike? To reiterate what I have already written, my blog is opinion only. I comment on what I see and read when I find cafe racers. Do I like them all? No. Do I say what I honestly believe? Yes. All I know is that I love cafe racers and will continue to find them and write about them…

Which brings me to this bike. Is it a cafe racer? Well, the seller says so. It is certainly a classic British bike, but it is missing some of the key aesthetic features that create the cafe look. It has high-ish bars, and standard footpegs. And it has white wall tires. That’s something I’ve never seen on a cafe bike. All that being said, it is a beautiful bike that either you could keep as is and enjoy, or you could stick some lower bars on it and “cafe” it. Whatever you think, this is a nicely put-together bike.

There are about 15 hours left before the Buy-It-Now goes away, but the “make offer” might get you a better deal if you are interested.

bsa thunderbolt 1970 cr 01
bsa thunderbolt 1970 cr 02
bsa thunderbolt 1970 cr 03
bsa thunderbolt 1970 cr 04
bsa thunderbolt 1970 cr 05
bsa thunderbolt 1970 cr 06

1 comment so far

  1. paul nielsen on

    sacrilege…WHITEWALLS??? I guess everybody has their own sense of style… other than those, generally nice detail work. I noticed he or she, parked the bike over a drain (see pic #1)..as an owner of British motorcycles for nearly 40 years..they don’t leak..they just mark their territory. And..doesn’t the back end look a bit low?? Ok, back to personal style and..where’s the tach???


Leave a Reply

