1974 Honda CB750 SOHC Cafe Racer


Here we have a cafe racer based on a 1974 Honda CB750 that has so much going right, and then a few things going a bit wrong. But before I get into that, I’ve got to say that it is for sale in a no-reserve auction, and the price is low right now, so keep that in mind.

First things first, the tank is sweet. Seller claims its heritage as having come from Carpy, which means it’s a choice piece of kit. It certainly looks nice, and is the nicest single thing on the bike. I also like the front end of the bike, with the clip-ons and large headlight creating that classic cafe silhouette. However, I’m not sure about the key mount. It seems like it could be simpler, but what do I know. And I like the seat, I think it just needs to be remounted a bit.

Overall, a decent cafe racer with some nice parts that just needs a few finishing touches (and some rear-sets (see the post from yesterday for some appropriate foot controls)). But with 5 days left in the auction and no reserve, it will be interesting to see what the auction closes at, and how much this bike is actually worth…

honda_cb750_1974_cr_01
honda_cb750_1974_cr_02
honda_cb750_1974_cr_03
honda_cb750_1974_cr_04
honda_cb750_1974_cr_05
honda_cb750_1974_cr_06

2 comments so far

  1. kato on

    I really like the look of this bike- especially the seat- but I do agree that something needs to be done with it’s mounting. This seat also looks like it could work with a passenger. I’ve been searching for a two-up seat like this for my cb350. Anyone have any leads?

  2. caferacers on

    I’ve got an idea. Check the main blog page…


Leave a Reply

