2000 Honda RC51 SP1 Street Fighter


As you may or may not know, I occasionally post street fighters on the blog. I like them. They are the modern incarnation of the cafe racer. It’s about taking a bike, making it even lighter, and then going out and having fun on it.

So I find this bike on eBay. It’s a street fighter/cafe racer hybrid of the modern sort. Low bars, but modern sportbike. It even has a low starting price.

I will admit, I have always liked the RC51. It’s a sportbike I would love to have in my garage. It was raced in AMA superbike, and you could buy it at your local dealer. And, as the seller is so kind to point out in this case, the mileage is actual.

I’ve got to say that I don’t think the mileage is relevant on a bike like this. I’m sure that it’s fast like the seller says. But my god, what hath Honda wrought upon the world with those side mount radiators?!? They should never be displayed on a naked bike. And that hand-formed aluminum seat isn’t quite cafe and isn’t quite fighter in style. I’m sure the bike will wheelie from here to wherever you happen to live. But it shouldn’t. I think I do not wish to see another RC51 street fighter/cafe racer. And I am shedding a small tear that an RC51 has come to this sad end. Sigh…


Okay, okay! You got me! It's an SP1, not an SP2!

Okay, okay! You got me! It's an SP1, not an SP2!


Maybe in France, maybe in France...

Maybe in France, maybe in France...


It only has 9,309 miles. And it was driven by a little old lady from Pasadena!

It only has 9,309 miles. And it was driven by a little old lady from Pasadena!


No comments yet

Leave a Reply

