1978 Harley-Davidson XLCR


Mostly for my friend Paul (because he really loves these bikes), here’s another XLCR up on the auction block. This one is a rider, not a 100pt restoration like that last one I posted. Overall, it appears very clean with the usual signs that it’s been ridden (motor is not perfectly painted, some bolts and metal parts appear to have a bit of corrosion, and the rear seat cowl has some kind of scuffing that could probably be buffed out). But for a bike that is 31 years old that has 11K miles, it is in pretty good shape. It does come with the manuals, lots of service records, and a dual rear seat.

Given it’s current state of shine, I’m going to guess that the reserve is $8,500 and $9,500. Good luck if you are bidding on this bike…


hd_xlcr_06
hd_xlcr_071
hd_xlcr_08

3 comments so far

  1. 'ol Panhead on

    Nice bike, if you can get it for under $10K it’s a good deal. A little suspension upgrade and should be lot’s of fun for the ‘casual’ cafe’ racer. And even though it’s an AMF HD..I still love ’em

  2. eric on

    If thats a 78 are’nt those 77 pipes? 77 pipes look better

  3. eric on

    My mistake those are the right pipes,I have way to much time on my hands. I have a 77 and seen too many that don’t look right this is pretty close. Missing AMF stickers and airfilter cover (1000) What a life pick at other people bikes. I wish I had a life.


Leave a Reply

