1978 Harley-Davidson XLCR


This is a really clean example of an H-D XLCR. Since you are at this site, I am pretty sure you have heard of it before, but if you haven’t, it was a factory (mostly) cafe racer from Harley-Davidson that was produced only in 1977 and 1978. Under-powered at 61hp compared to it’s contemporary brethren, but with a full helping of somewhat European styling, it was never a sales hit and disappeared from Harley’s bike roster after just over 3,100 machines were produced. It was something of an oxymoronic bike, as current owners of Harley-Davidsons didn’t care for the styling, and speed-freaks could go 20 miles an hour faster on the top-end with a stock CB750.

Be that as it may, the bike for sale here is very, very clean and has been restored to within an inch of its life. Good luck finding a nicer example, unless it is one that was hermetically sealed as it rolled off the factory floor. The auction hasn’t met reserve yet, but there are 6 days left. I’ll post a “How Much Was It Worth?” on the back end…


hd_xlcr_011
hd_xlcr_02
hd_xlcr_03
hd_xlcr_04
hd_xlcr_05

3 comments so far

  1. themotoworld on

    The only Harley I would own. And I would love to own one. Stunning bike. Should fetch quite a pretty penny.

  2. Ian on

    I found this on ebay, but too late to get my bank involved, doh!

    I did notice that it didn’t meet reserve. Not surprised. What will happen with it now? I’m still interested in purchasing this machine. Saw one in a magazine in the late 80’s, been in love ever since. I own 2 Sporty’s, but this is the jewel in the crown for me. Then I just need an XR1000 to complete the collection.

    • caferacers on

      Hi Ian,

      I posted about the close of this auction and gave some advice regarding your question. You can contact him on eBay by visiting his profile and then hitting the “Contact Member” button.

      Erik


Leave a Reply

