My bike… Finally!!!


Back in the day, when I first started tearing my bike apart, I ended up with a few mods (there’s more now, though). It is a 2005 Sportster 883. This pic is one of the few from that stage of the bike’s build. Right here it has 27″ drag bars and 15″ Progressive shocks as the only purchased add-ons. I also did a few home-brewed mods, including the following:

  • Cutting the balance tube/exhaust bracket so the rear axle would clear the exhaust with the swing arm being pushed down by the 15″ shocks. This also gave the exhaust a weird note as there was a third outlet for the spent gas.
  • Race-Tech straight rate springs from my old race bike. I think they are spec’d for an ’87 ZX600 as that is the front end I had on my EX500. This stopped the front end from bottoming during hard braking or cornering.
  • EBC HH rated pads. These actually stopped the bike versus the stock H-D pieces.
  • Single braided brake line in the front from the EX500 race bike. Mmmmm… 🙂

I will try to get a nicer picture of the bike (and maybe some detail shots, too), and post them with a list of updated mods. However, don’t expect it to be beautiful. It is a daily rider with lots of miles and is no show bike or trailer queen.

Thanks for reading the blog. I appreciate everyone’s great comments!

Sportster with stage 1 cafe racer mods

Sportster with stage 1 cafe racer mods

2 comments so far

  1. Lorenzo on

    Nice! Leak much oil?

  2. Ronald Reagan on

    Nice bikes, good commentary,but…you’re lagging. I’m looking for new stuff from you.
    I think you’re nuts building a Cafe’ bike out of a Sporty but I admire your courage. Keeps us posted.
    Ronny Ray Gun


Leave a Reply

