1978 Harley-Davidson XLCR Sportster Cafe Racer


Up for auction on eBay right now (and going to sell for over $13K by the looks of it) is this 1978 Harley XLCR. It is in pretty good shape with very low miles (<4K). The current owner mentions a few minor wear-and-tear scratches and dings, but no close up photos of those that I could find. Lots of extras included in the auction…

I’m starting to feel kinda stupid posting different XLCRs. As the owner of a 2005 Sportster being converted into a cafe racer, I feel a little bit of loyalty to these original attempts at the factory cafe racer. But as I download and post more and more of these, I am beginning to realize that nobody does anything interesting to these bikes, and I could just as well post a picture of any one of the XLCRs that are for sale on any of the listings and it wouldn’t really make a difference. I mean, how many black sportsters (albeit XLCRs) can one person take?

I understand that they are considered a “collectible” Harley (especially out of the AMF years), but come on! Somebody has to have modded one of these. Bueller? Bueller? Bueller? If anyone has any good pics of a modded XLCR send them my way and I will post…


hd_xlcr_14
hd_xlcr_15


4 comments so far

  1. Paul Nielsen on

    Hey, whats with the stupid seat? Looks like it came off an original Super Glide..what ever it came off, put it back and get the or a proper seat. Other than that, nice bike. If it goes for over $13K…well…

    • caferacers on

      Uhhhh. I’m pretty sure that’s the optional dual seat in case you wanted a passenger on the XLCR.

  2. eric on

    I have both seat for single and double. I wish I was smart enough to figure why that seat is different. Maybe if I knew how to read I could read a book. Alas have to find a pretty girl to help me. What luck

  3. Gassper on

    Thats the original dual seat, they come with that and a single seat. The dual seat has a block of solid foam at the back which makes it slope backwards and people tend to slip off. Its lethal.
    The single seat is better even for two, as long as its someone slim and intimate.
    I have an xlcr I bought new in 79 when I was working in Schenectady NY (I live in the UK)
    My xlcr has 2000 miles from new, its usually broken down and gets repaired every 10 years or so, then I take it to get its MOT (goverment road test) and then it breaks down on the way home.
    At least my Trident keeps going!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 149 other followers

